Orsay: 22/9/2010

Today was our first day at Musee D’Orsay and I honestly did not know what to expect; we had seen both Renaissance and modern art and from my understanding the works at the Musee D’Orsay were to be the happy medium between the two ends of the spectrum. We did see a great deal of art that seemed to be the bridge between classical and modern artwork. The piece that I found most interesting was an oil on canvas painting entitled, “Plowing the Nivernais” by Rosa Bonheur. I was initially drawn to this piece when I heard it was created by a female artist (Bonheur is the only female artist we have seen through the entirety of this course). I was even further drawn in when I learned that unlike many of her male counterparts, Rose Bonheur had no classical training and never attended any sort of art school meaning that her gift was natural and she made her work what she wanted it to be and not what she was told it was supposed to be. This realist painting is just that, real. The dirt looks dirty, it has an almost touchable quality to it. The oxen look real and tired. My only non-realistic comment is that the white of the oxen is perfectly clean even though they are trekking through dirt. When I look at this painting I feel like I am on a farm and working in the field. The fact that this painting is based on natural talent makes it all the more amazing. It is a great piece that almost looks like a photograph; it is a natural scene that could be happening at any point and time. Bonheur was able to capture everyday life and make it seem exquisite. For these reasons, I found “Plowing in the Nivernais” to be so incredible.

About cristinasartadventure

Bonjour! I am an American girl studying art and architecture in the most beautiful city in the world: Paris, France. This blog will chronicle my art adventures, museum trips, church visits and all sorts of other amazing things that I will see during my stay. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

